If you would like to take advantage of regular special offers available to our customers through our newsletters, please enter your email address here.
Twitter Facebook
We are currently not trading.

Shop > Books > Fiction > The Sorrow of Sisters

The Sorrow of Sisters


The Sorrow of Sisters
The Undercliff Trilogy by Wendy K Harris is a series of novels of adventure, romance and intrigue, all set on the Undercliff on the west end of the Isle of Wight where the author herself lives. Although each novel can be read independently, the same places and characters appear in each one.

The Sorrow of Sisters is the first in the trilogy.

The first of The Undercliff Novels portrays the area as a character in its own right. Harris sees it through the present day eyes of Jane as she explores. And as she experiences the shift and sigh of land and sea, her perception of herself starts to tremor and quake. She sees it also through the eyes of Lillian and how her life, fifty years ago, depended on the isolation of a small Undercliff bay to keep her safe. And Emmeline now at the end of her life, the one who knows ...

Wendy Harris

The youngest of four sisters, Wendy Harris resorted to writing in order to get a word in edgeways. She continued to write while practising as a nurse, homoeopath and counsellor and bringing up five children in rattling old rectory in Herefordshire.
When the time came for a change, she moved her husband and her laptop into a caravan and trundled around Wales and England, finally becoming ensnared by The Undercliff on the Isle of Wight, entranced by its history of shipwrecks, smuggling and landslips. Here she was inspired by tumbling cliffs and precarious cottages to write The Sorrow of Sisters, Blue Slipper Bay and Rocken Edge which have become known as The Undercliff Novels.
Made on the Isle of Wight, Bullen Mead, Bullen Road, Ryde, Isle of Wight, PO33 1QE
01983 564949