If you would like to take advantage of regular special offers available to our customers through our newsletters, please enter your email address here.
Twitter Facebook
We are currently not trading.

Shop > Books > Fiction > Blue Slipper Bay

Blue Slipper Bay


Blue Slipper Bay
The Undercliff Trilogy by Wendy K Harris is a series of novels of adventure, romance and intrigue, all set on the Undercliff on the west end of the Isle of Wight where the author herself lives. Although each novel can be read independently, the same places and characters appear in each one.

Blue Slipper Bay is the second in the trilogy, in which the search for fulfilment is expressed through troubled relationships involving tragedy and deception and an exploration of what love – and the letting go of love - might mean. The little seaside town of Ventnor plays its part – and the half-imagined Blue Slipper Bay.

When Sophie’s dependent mother dies and her deceitful husband leaves she puts her life on hold. She walks out of her demanding profession in mental health, sells her house and goes to stay with her old friend Jill, on the Isle of Wight before deciding what her next step might be. Jill, a psychologist, desperately needs Sophie to stay on the island for complex reasons. But Sophie makes new friends and begins to fashion a different life for herself, and as she grows stronger, Jill finds the unstable foundations of her own existence start to quake.

Nick has also turned his back on his past after the tragic death of his wife. He has been travelling, searching for peace of mind. On a Greek island he meets Kyp and Evie who run a seafood restaurant at Blue Slipper Bay on the Isle of Wight. They entice him back to England and he finds work rediscovering a lost garden, which suits his need for solitude. But, unless it is resolved, the past impacts on the present. Sophie, Jill and Nick all have to turn back before they can truly move forward.

Wendy Harris

The youngest of four sisters, Wendy Harris resorted to writing in order to get a word in edgeways. She continued to write while practising as a nurse, homoeopath and counsellor and bringing up five children in rattling old rectory in Herefordshire.
When the time came for a change, she moved her husband and her laptop into a caravan and trundled around Wales and England, finally becoming ensnared by The Undercliff on the Isle of Wight, entranced by its history of shipwrecks, smuggling and landslips. Here she was inspired by tumbling cliffs and precarious cottages to write The Sorrow of Sisters, Blue Slipper Bay and Rocken Edge which have become known as The Undercliff Novels.
Made on the Isle of Wight, Bullen Mead, Bullen Road, Ryde, Isle of Wight, PO33 1QE
01983 564949